Who We Are

The Jewish Alliance for Law and Social Action is a member-based organization, inspired by Jewish teachings and values, dedicated to being a strong, progressive, inter-generational voice for social and economic justice, civil rights, and constitutional liberties. Established in 2001 by forty former board members of the American Jewish Congress- New England, the organization has the benefit of rich experience in social action with deep inter-community roots, while also having the innovation and dynamism of a new-forward thinking organization.

JALSA asks our members, both affiliated and unaffiliated Jews, and those outside the Jewish community to take personal responsibility for improving our society by advocating with public officials on legislative proposals, using the tools of grassroots community organizing to act on issues, and filing amicus briefs in court cases.


Cindy Rowe
Executive Director
Cindy Rowe is the Executive Director of JALSA. Her extensive work in the nonprofit sector over the past two decades has strengthened many organizations and has enabled them to address critical needs such as affordable housing, health care, access to legal aid, immigration assistance, and many other essential services. She previously served as JALSA’s Deputy Director for Development and Outreach and  has led efforts to engage members and the general public in many recent JALSA campaigns, including guaranteeing earned sick time for all Massachusetts workers and serving on the Strategy Committee guiding the passage of the state’s most recent gun violence prevention law. Cindy has also led all of JALSA’s development initiatives, which provide the necessary financial support for our work, through the JALSA Justice Society, Tzedek Annual Fund, Membership Drive, Annual Meeting, and other donation programs.


Cindy chairs Social Justice at Temple Israel/Boston, which pioneered the concept of using community organizing in a synagogue setting over 10 years ago, leading to the adoption of this technique in hundreds of synagogues across the country. She also has many years of advocacy experience, having worked in the Massachusetts State House for both the Administration and Legislature. She also founded the New England Housing Network, bringing together organizations from a six state region to advocate for federal affordable housing programs.


Cindy is a board member of the Lawyers Clearinghouse, which provides pro bono legal services to nonprofit corporations throughout the state. She earned her undergraduate degree from Harvard College, concentrating in Government and English,  and a J.D. from Boston College Law School.  She and her husband, Martin, have one daughter, who has just started college.


Hannah Klein
Lead Organizer and Program Manager
Hannah Klein joined JALSA in September 2015 as the Community Organizer and Program Manager. Hannah has previously worked at the Haverford College Women*s Center where she was able to develop and grow her passion for working with communities around gender-related issues and sexual assault support and prevention work. She is a graduate of the J.O.I.N for Justice Organizing Fellowship and has a B.A in Anthropology and Gender and Sexuality Studies from Haverford College.



Rachael Dubinsky
Director of Development and Communications Strategy
Rachael Dubinsky is the communications associate for JALSA and works to provide strategic communications guidance. Prior to her role with JALSA, Rachael was a field organizer for the New Hampshire Democratic Party during the 2016 election cycle.
Rachael has a strong passion for social justice & empowering women. She previously served as a senior digital strategies associate for The Hatcher Group and deputy press secretary at the U.S. Department of Agriculture in Washington, D.C. She holds an M.A. in strategic public relations from George Washington University and a B.S. and B.A. in agriculture and communications from University of Delaware.



Alison Lee Sikowitz

Alison Lee Sikowitz is a community organizer for JALSA. She became passionate about social and economic justice while organizing campaigns for campus workers’ rights and co-facilitating a political education class at Tufts University. Prior to her role with JALSA, Alison worked at the Boston Medical Center’s Immigrant & Refugee Health Program to improve immigrant patients’ access to legal services. She is a fellow with the J.O.I.N. for Justice Organizing Fellowship and has a B.A. in American Studies from Tufts University.





Molly Bajgot
Western Massachusetts Organizer
Molly is the Western Massachusetts organizer for JALSA. She has a history of living and organizing in the Pioneer Valley from her time spent at the University of Massachusett, Amherst, studying Sustainable Food and Farming. Molly was a JOIN fellow in 2014 with SEIU 509, and a Moishe Kavod House organizer in 2015. She is studying to become a licensed massage therapist and sees her songwriting, singing, and healing ambitions as tactics against oppression.


Officers & Board

Larry Bailis

Vice President
Mary Ellen Grossman

Vice President
Mike Gildesgame

Vice President
Felice Mendell

Paul Holtzman

Assistant Secretary
Daniel Fishman

Zippy Ostroy

Assistant Treasurer
Noah Hodgetts

Additional Members of the Executive Committee include:
Amy Pitter- Nominating and Board Development Committee Chair
Jonathan Sclarsic- Commission on Law & Social Action Chair

Board Members

Paul Adler
Bryan Barash
Amy Benjamin
Barbara Cullen
Susie Davidson
Joel Eigerman
Ellen Feingold
Andrew Fischer
Janet Goldenberg
David Guberman


Jamie Hoag
Rosie Hunter
Jonathan Klein
Michele Marantz
David Morse
Bonnie Orlin
Will Rasky
Neil Silverston
Hon. Frank Smizik
David Wittenberg
Lizzi Weyant

Advisory Committee

David Albright
Karen Ames
Robert Asher
Rep. Ruth Balser
Edward Barshak
Brendan Berger
Noah Berger
Barbara Berke
Barry Bluestone
Sen. William Brownsberger
Ruth Budd
David Cavell
Sen. Harriette Chandler
Hon. David Cohen
Nadine Cohen
Chuck Colbert
Sen. Cynthia Creem
Susan Davidoff
Rep. Marjorie Decker
Rep. Lorie Ehrlich
Ellen Fisher
Prof. Franklin Fisher
Jamie Fleckner
David Friedman
Harvey Frishtat
Nanette Fridman
Mayor Ruthanne Fuller
Barbara Gaffin
Nicole Gann
David Gasson
Bonny Gilbert
Fran Godine
Treasurer Deborah
Hon. Joanne Goldstein
Rep. Kenneth Gordon
David Harris
Rep. Jonathan Hecht
Jerry Jacobs
Linda Jason
Julie Johnson
Rep. Louis Kafka
Hon. Ruth Kaplan
Hon. Rudolph Kass
Rep. Jay Kaufman
Fredie Kay
Adam Kessel
Rep. Kay Khan
Jonathan Klein
Sen. Eric Lesser
Richard Levine
Sen. Jason Lewis
Rep. David Linsky
Hon. Stephen Linsky
Hon. Brooke Lipsitt
Dr. Alan Lobovits
Rep. Liz Malia
Ronald Marlow
Maryssa Schneider McLean
Rabbi Bernard Mehlman
Mark Michelson
Rep. Aaron Michlewitz
Abigail Moncrieff
Patrick Moore
Alexandra Moses
Judith Obermayer
Andy Oram
Sandy Ostroy
Shirley Partoll
Rabbi Barbara Penzner
Rabbi Jill Perlman
Sam Petuchowski
Colette Phillips
Beth Pinals
Charles Radin
Rick Reibstein
Nicole Roos
Sen. Stan Rosenberg
Hon. Michael Ross
Rabbi Michael Rothbaum
Nathan Rothstein
Rep. Byron Rushing
Jeff Sacks
Aimee Mayer-Salins
Steve Samuel
Illisa Schild
Marilyn Segal
Celia Segel
Phil Sego
Darryl Settles
Norma Shapiro
Alex Sheff
Emily Shield
Nancy Shilepsky
Dina Siegal
Marc Slotnick
Rabbi Matt Soffer
Senator Karen Spilka
Jeff Stone
Sharon Stout
Joel Suttenberg
Ken Sweder
Hon. Ronny Sydney
Eve Tapper
Janet Taylor
Cantor Rosalie Toubes
Mitch Tyson
Rabbi Andrew Vogel
Albert Wallis
Bernard Wax
Hon. Alice Wolf
Sen Daniel Wolf
City Council President Michelle Wu
Terry Yoffie
Councillor Josh Zakim
Alexandra Zaltman